The Epstein-Barr virus (EBV) is associated with a spectrum of B-cell lymphoproliferative diseases (LPD) that develop following organ transplantation. A classification scheme for these disorders has been developed based on the clinical, histologic, immunologic cell-typing, cytogenetic, immunoglobulin gene-rearrangement, and virologic characteristics of these LPD. Four disease groups have been identified: () uncomplicated posttransplant infectious mononucleosis, () benign polyclonal polymorphic B-cell hyperplasia, () early malignant transformation in polyclonal polymorphic B-cell lymphoma, and () monoclonal polymorphic B-cell lymphoma. This classification has furthered our understanding of the pathogenesis of these diverse LPD and has allowed the development of rational treatment protocols.


Article metrics loading...

Loading full text...

Full text loading...


Data & Media loading...

  • Article Type: Review Article
This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error